Now Reading
Insider’s View: South Africa Music Awards Nomination Ceremony

Insider’s View: South Africa Music Awards Nomination Ceremony

by Zanele Ndlovu (TheLastLetter)

Seldom do we, as artists, get to perceive the experiences of other artists through journalistic lenses, but thanks to Drummr Africa Magazine I got to do just that at this year’s South African Music Awards Nomination Ceremony. 

The Event started off with a complementary train ride on the new PRASA trains where musicians, journalists and industry colleagues alike got to mingle over the 30 Minute journey from Park Station to The Soweto Theater where the event was held. 

On the train I met Gqom musician Cairo, who at the time we met, had no idea he would be leaving the event as a South Africa Music Awards nominated artist for the first time in his career. Later he expressed how himself and his manager are still processing the news and how his mother back home in The Eastern Cape was the first one he told about it.

Upon arrival breakfast was served and press photos were taken. This gave me the opportunity to brush shoulders with some of South Africa’s biggest music stars right before the official announcement ceremony was set to begin.

Between nomination announcements, we were pleasantly surprised with performances by Lwah Ndlunkulu and Young Stunna.

I also had a chat with Alt-Pop singer Sincerely-Anne who got three nominations for ‘Best Female Artist of the Year’, ‘Album of the Year’ and ‘Best Engineered Album of the Year’ for her album ‘To Whom It May Concern’. She shared with me how long her journey has taken her to get to this point, and how important it is to let the process of creation flow without trying to force things. She emphasized on allowing one’s career to unfold as it should, leaving me with a quote “We are flowers, flowers attract bees they don’t chase them”.

Some of the other nominations announced that were of particular interest to South african music fans and media alike included:

See Also

Album of the Year

  • Mass Country – AKA
  • SR3 – K.O
  • Isibuko – Sjava
  • KOA II Part 1 – Kabza De Small
  • Lavish Worship – Ntokozo Mbambo

Female Artist of the Year

  • Kelly Khumalo – From a God to a King
  • Ntokozo Mbambo – Lavish Worship
  • Sincerely Anne – To Whom it May Concern
  • Hle – Take Heart
  • Thandi Ntuli – Blk Elijah & The Children of Meroë

Male Artist of the Year

  • Kabza De Small – KOA II Part 1
  • AKA – Mass Country
  • Sjava – Isibuko
  • K.O – SR3
  • Lloyiso – Seasons

Best Amapiano Album

  • Amukelani – Kelvin Momo
  • Ba Straata – DJ Maphorisa and Visca
  • 2.0 Nkwari – Myztro
  • KOA II Part 1 – Kabza De Small
  • Scorpion Kings Live Sun Arena – DJ Maphorisa and Kabza De Small

Best R&B Album

  • 4LUV (Deluxe) – Blxckie
  • But Could the Moments in Between – Manana
  • Germander II – FLVME
  • Bad Weather – Nanette
  • Passion Fruit – KABOMO

As well as 

Rest of Africa award

  • Sad Romance – Ckay
  • Timeless – Davido
  • I’m Alive – Sha Sha
  • Worry – Lyre
  • Dynastie – Ferre Gola
  • Sounds of Peace – Moreira Chonguiça

It was also announced that The 29th South Africa Music Awards ceremony will be held this year in KwaZulu-Natal Province, projecting it to be a star studded celebratory event showcasing the beauty of the province and honoring the hard work of everyone involved in the nominated works.

Check out more on the nominations here…

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

© 2022 Drummr Africa. All Rights Reserved. 

Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our User Agreement and Privacy Policy. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Drummr Africa.

Scroll To Top